Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mando "performance anxiety" when playing with others?

Default Mando "performance anxiety" when playing with others?

I am relatively new to playing mandolin, but have noticed some performance anxiety in the form of shakiness in the hands and bodily tightness when playing with others, either a teacher or a friend. It definitely interferes with my playing, but eventually will begin to subside somewhat. This is not an uncommon theme in my life, so not super surprised by it.

I think I subconsciously look at playing in front of a teacher or a more experienced friend as a "mini performance" as in I "should" have such and such down. Of course, this zaps some of the fun and creativity out of it.

Anybody else relate to this? If so, have you found anything that helps?

Thanks!

2. The following members say thank you to Hoogus for this post:

two t's and one hyphen fatt-dad's Avatar

Default Re: Mando "performance anxiety" when playing with others?

part of the hobby - in the manner of public speaking.

My advice? Remember to breath.

f-d
    ¡papá gordo ain’t no madre flaca!

'20 A3, '30 L-1, '97 914, 2012 Cohen A5, 2012 Muth A5, '14 OM28A

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to fatt-dad For This Useful Post:

Mediocre but OK with that Paul Busman's Avatar

I get that too sometimes. I'll be playing right along at an Irish session, but when it's my turn to start a tune and I choose one that I know really well, I'll fumble with getting it started. Once everyone else joins in, I'm fine.
    For wooden musical fun that doesn't involve strumming, check out:
    www.busmanwhistles.com
    Handcrafted pennywhistles in exotic hardwoods.

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul Busman For This Useful Post:

formerly Philphool Phil Goodson's Avatar