Thread: Am I going about practicing properly?

Default Am I going about practicing properly?

I've played acoustic guitar for 35 some odd years. I studied music theory and remember enough that when I read something it comes back (and probably leaves) pretty quickly. I have no trouble site reading musical notation or tabs.

I've fooled around on the mandolin only playing a few two finger open chords.

I’ve been playing my mandolin more seriously lately. I switch off between spending some time with manolassons.com (playing along with some of the songs but not rushing it) and playing some ‘studies’ from pentatonic scales book. There are about six exercises for each scale that I’m practicing focusing on tone as well as accuracy. I figure I’ll bring speed in last. I also ‘strum’ some guitar tune favorites and am playing three-finger chords, hoping that as I’m able to play & switch to/from these with accuracy, speed, and without pain I can move to four finger chords.

Does this sound like a proper way to go at this? Any suggestions or pitfalls to avoid?

Thanks in advance!

And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Default Re: Am I going about practicing properly?

Sounds to me as good as any at this point. Typically, your practice habits will change with time as everything else changes with time.

I think the most important consideration is to practice in order to learn to do the things you want to do and sound the way you want to sound. Technique and Tone. There are many trails to explore on your way.