Thread: Set-up Shop in Orlando area?

Default Set-up Shop in Orlando area?

So I recently acquired a mandolin from guitar center as a gift and wanted to know if there is a place in orlando that I can check if its set up properly. I'm brand new to the mandolin world, so I'd like to make sure everything is in order.

Default Re: Set-up Shop in Orlando area?

Sensukai, welcome to Mandolin Café and the mandolin world in general. I'll be interested in hearing the answer to this as we are planning a future move to the Orlando area. We currently have a winter home in Naples, FL and there are very few music shops in the area and none cater to acoustic instruments.

Enjoy your journey.
    "All of us contain Music & Truth, but most of us can't get it out." - Mark Twain

Eastman MD615SB
    Martin D35
    Gibson SG

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Ross Teigen has relocated from Naples to Hawthorne, east of Gainesville and north of Orlando: http://florida-luthier.com/
    1924 Gibson A Snakehead
    2005 National RM-1
    2007 Hester A5
    2009 Passernig A5
    2015 Black A2-z
    2010 Black GBOM
    2017 Poe Scout
    2014 Smart F-Style Mandola
    2018 Vessel TM5
    2019 Hogan F5

4. The following members say thank you to pheffernan for this post:

Huh interesting, that's about 2hrs out of town though sadly.

Would you know of any closer to the orlando area?

You'll learn a lot if you set it up yourself. Email me at rob.meldrum@gmail.com and put Mandolin Set Up in the subject line. I will email you my ebook on how to set up a mandolin. The ebook is free. You'll need a set of feeler gauges (less than $10 at any auto parts store) and a file or dremel to put notches in them (I show you how to make your own nut files).

Have fun!

Rob