Thread: Mandola?

Default Mandola?

Hello, all. I've been off the forum for a while, but a question has come up the answer to which, I think, can best be found here.

I've been playing mandolin seriously for about three years now, and I've reached a level that allows me to play certain songs on stage with my band, both rhythm as well as solos now and then. The issue is that I've developed a bit of MAS, and have an itch to own and play a mandola. I've discussed this with the lead guitarist in our band, both a fellow musician as well as a friend, and he advises against it. He thinks that, as a relative newcomer to mandolin, the change in chord shapes on the mandola will create confusion and hamper my development on either instrument.

I'm not sure about that. My primary instrument is saxophone, but I also play clarinet, whose fingerings, though somewhat similar, are much more complex, and I've managed to keep the two separate in my mind and in my fingers. In response to my friend's caution, I've also considered an octave mandolin, but that might be going lower in tone than I'd like, and they seem to be more dear than mandolas.

Any thoughts?

Default Re: Mandola?

I've been playing guitar and mandolin for over 40 years and more recently adden an octave and then a mandola. I still tend to play mandolin with other people but prefer octave for solo work. I haven't fully explored the mandola's possibilities yet; partly because it's a pain dragging more than two instruments around and partly because, although the mandola is a Collings, it can't yet compete with the power of the other two in a session.