Thread: My Morgan Monroe your opinion hope not too bad :-)

Default My Morgan Monroe your opinion hope not too bad :-)

Hello there to everybody from Milan Italy

It could seem strange to you but there's not a proper f-style mandolin culture in Italy so i bought a mandolin in the Usa through ebay , well i know that is made in china but as soon as it arrived into my home i came to love it to bits ! as Im a starter of this instrument i would like to have some tips from you about this mandolin and how i can improve the quality of it in the near future .

A) how do u rate this instrument from your experience ?
    B) What kind of strings do have to buy for it and the gauge ? i ve read that a heavier gauge keep the instrument more in tune is that the case ?
    C ) As a beginner i noticed that it tends to get out of tune when i took back the instrument the next day
    D) Which tuner do i have to buy for it ? i ve got one for the guitar but it doesnt seem to work well on the madolin
    E) what do i have to do to improve the instrument ?

As a beginner my impression all in all is good despite the fact that was made in china
    i payed it 400 € here's a pic of it , thanks to everybody for your tips

kind regards

https://imgur.com/a/r2nNE6u

Default Re: My Morgan Monroe your opinion hope not too bad :-)

Hello Marco,
    I have Morgan Monroe MDM 1, and love it. It will be a great 1st mandolin. As for E), you'll realize what the instrument needs for improvement as you improve.

Is that a guitar tuner or a chromatic tuner? Most dedicated guitar tuners "look" for lower tones than a mandolin makes. A decent chromatic tuner like a Snark will do fine.
    We are the music makers,
    And we are the dreamers of dreams

I find these very handy.

http://www.accessories.daddario.com/...4-4c829b1e0273

One member here offers a pdf setup document but I forget his username. Maybe someone will post that. It helped me greatly in understanding the mandolin.

Confused... or?