Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1st Mandolin on $1k Budget?

Default 1st Mandolin on $1k Budget?

I'm a long time guitarist, playing acoustic, electric, bass and even some piano at times, who is looking to learn a new instrument, and I think the mandolin would be a great skill to have in my tool box. The guitars I play span the range of quality (PRS, vintage Gibson, modern Fender, Ibanez, Earnie Ball, Reverend, etc ...), so I do appreciate a quality instrument and understand it comes at a cost.

I also realize mandolin's are a different price structure than guitars are, and I accept the fact I can only get an 'ok' mandolin within this $1k price range. from what I've been reading, maybe a 'good' one if I consider buying used. I'm ok with that, and would consider a more expensive one in the future if I take to it and begin playing it as much (or more?) than my guitars.

I'd like to stay away from the really cheap ones, as I have enough experience to know I probably won't like playing it if it doesn't feel good and sound good. So I want to avoid is buying one that is difficult to play, or sounds bad, or doesn't fit my purpose. Hence I am reaching out to you fine folks for some knowledge and guidance!

What I'm having a hard time understanding is what I should be looking for. I've been reading a lot on this forum, and see mention of oval holes, F holes, round holes, etc ... and these having an impact on tone and suitability for particular genres of music.

I'm not overly concerned with an A style vs. a F style, but I do appreciate the classic look of a mandolin, so I haven't been considering something like a Godin A8, or some of the other "non-traditional" looking mandolins ... although maybe I should given my intended use?