Thread: Is this even a mandola?

Default Is this even a mandola?

Hello,

I'm very new to the music world, I recently started learning ukulele about 6 months ago. Now i found this mandola (is it even a mandola) at the recycle shop I work at, for 30 bucks. I've actually a deceased grandpa that played mandola a lot, also to me and my siblings+cousins.

So I thought, I think I wanna buy that thing. It's not at all in perfect shape but it's a bargain, and I don't think I would buy one from an actual retailer. As long as it's actually a mandola, that is, since the reason I've been wanting to learn it is to like remember my grandpa by it.

Some pictures coming up, could you all please give me some info on what kind it actually is??

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180531_135809.jpg 
Views:	123 
Size:	694.1 KB 
ID:	168149Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180531_135724.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	622.7 KB 
ID:	168150

Name:	IMG_20180531_135733.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	540.5 KB 
ID:	168151Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180531_135746.jpg 
Views:	120 
Size:	842.2 KB 
ID:	168152Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180531_135754.jpg 
Views:	139 
Size:	594.5 KB 
ID:	168153

Thanks for reading and in advance for replying,
    And have a nice day o/
    Last edited by Mandolin Cafe; Jun-02-2020 at 2:08pm.

Default Re: Is this even a mandola?

From the proportions it looks like a mandolin. However, to be sure: What is the scale length? Measure from the nut to the 12th fret. If it is around 6-1/2" or so, then it is a mandolin. If longer (maybe 8 or 8-1/2") then it could be a mandola.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately: