Thread: 3 fingered chop chords?

Default 3 fingered chop chords?

I have been playing mandolin for about 8 months and know basic chords but I was wondering about chop chords as I am wanting to get into playing bluegrass...I have a partial amputation of my left pinky so it's unusable... was wondering what I could use for chop chords and also if the shapes of them can be moved up and down the neck or if they are stationary

Default Re: 3 fingered chop chords?

Yes the shapes move up an down and all around the fretboard. With 3 fingers on "4" strings one is not going to be noted the open string should be the E and your hand should mute it, but there are several shapes that do that. For years I used the four finger BG chop chords just like you are supposed to. Then arthur set in and I can no longer stretch across the neck but I can still chop time and I still get a tone not just a slap as so many of today's picker do but Bill never did.

Three fingers are plenty for any chord, chop or not. More often than not these days I use double stops for chopping. But, I prefer a more percussive, less "chord tone"-y chop. YMMV
    Mitch Russell

===========

Roland White has a video on YouTube where he talks about the alternate 3-finger chop chords that he uses . . . very helpful if you want to be different, yet still stay in the bluegrass mode.

5. The following members say thank you to MikeZito for this post:

The Complete Jethro Burns Mandolin Book is pretty good. He very often played with only three fingers and the resulting chords. Great results, of course.
    Jammin' south of the river
    '20 Gibson A-2
    Stromberg-Voisinet Tenor Guitar
    Penny Whistle
    My albums: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/album.php?u=7616

7. The following members say thank you to Capt. E for this post:

I have the same injury with my pinky and ring finger. Mine are somewhat usable within limits. Working with them over time I have regained significant mobility and feeling in them.