Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with Jigs

Default Need help with Jigs

Hello,

I've been studying Mandolin seriously for about 4 months. My first love is Bluegrass but my instructor is trying to expand my horizons and improve my picking by starting me on jigs. Here's the problem I just don't get jigs. The rhythm (6/8) is just too foreign to my ears and the melodies so far have not inspired me to want to practice. Does anyone have any suggestions for tunes/artists I should listen to get a better understanding of the genre? Who knows I may learn to like jigs after all

FWIW I had the same issue when I was kid taking guitar lessons many years ago. My teacher was tying to get me to improve by playing classical guitar and I couldn't get used to the genre. Because of this I lost interest in my lessons and my playing stagnated. It wasn't until years later that I discovered Andres Segovia and John Williams that the lightbulb went off. Wish I had heard them at 15.

Thanks for the feed back
    Bob

Default Re: Need help with Jigs

Honestly Bob if Jigs aren’t grabbing you don’t bother with them. They require a completely different approach and arguably years to perfect. I don’t think any of this time will benefit your bluegrass playing. Listening to bluegrass players dabbling in jigs is often not a great listening experience. I think there is enough in the world of bluegrass to keep you occupied. If you subsequently develop a love for Jigs then that is the time to put in the effort.

3. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to James Rankine For This Useful Post:

Marla Fibish, Kevin McLeod, Dave Surrette, Luke Plumb, and some Youtube searches might expose you to some nice stuff.