Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mike Marshall or Sharon Gilchrist?

Question Mike Marshall or Sharon Gilchrist?

Hi, I just purchased my mandolin and am an absolute beginner. I'm torn as to which mandolin course I should take: Mike Marshall at Artist Works or Sharon Gilchrist at Peghead Nation. Is one style of teaching better than the other or easier?

Thanks!

Default Re: Mike Marshall or Sharon Gilchrist?

I used Mike Marshall and found he took a long time to reply to my video submissions. He does explain his lessons very well and I found them to be helpful. At that time I was having bigtime pain in my back and couldn't hold the mandolin the way he recommended and he kept telling me to do it his way. I got fed up and quit. This past Winter I had two vertebrae fused in my neck and most of the pain has gone away. I have watched the free video of Ms. Gilchrist on Peghead and she appears to be a great teacher. Perhaps I will try her one day.

3. The following members say thank you to George R. Lane for this post:

I've had both in person at camps or workshops, and both are obviously highly experienced teachers as well as musicians. The in-person experience is different from on-line, unless you are live on Skype or the like. Artist Works and Peghead Nation have much different approaches, which are a big consideration along with the teachers. I use Peghead and like their approach and general vibe of the experience and company. The interface as well. Others use Artist Works. I suggest if you're on the fence maybe try a month or two at each. You'll learn something either way.

As to Sharon and Mike, in person I find Sharon extremely organized and patient, and has a great approach to explaining things and teaching in general. I'm sure that is reflected in her Peghead course as well. Mike probably the same. Hope this helps.

5. The following members say thank you to Luna Pick for this post: