Thread: G strings on F-style dull, muddy, lacking attack. Fix?

Default G strings on F-style dull, muddy, lacking attack. Fix?

So I'm new to mandolins, but have a pretty nice Kentucky KM1000.

I played a really premium small-builder F-style the other day and was amazed by the open, hollow, ringing G strings. Basically, they had the crisp attack I thought was only available on the A and E strings.

While I certainly don't expect my (comparatively) humble Kentucky to perform at the level of the small-builder mandolin, I would really like to add some crispness and attack to the low G strings, as well as remove some mud.

Are there some simple tricks for this, i.e., a certain string type/gauge, saddle material, etc.?

Default Re: G strings on F-style dull, muddy, lacking attack. Fix?

I am not a luthier but I believe that having a perfectly executed nut can affect the tone of individual strings. Sometimes even just the angle of the slots can have some effect. I am assuming that you have relatively new strings on your Mandolin.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

Blog Entries

When I am sampling mandolins, I look for (listen for, actually) a mandolin whose D and G strings sound like a downward extension of the tonality exhibited by the E and A strings. It's ok if they get progressively 'darker' as they get lower, but I want a continuum, not a noticeably different tonality when going from the A string down to the D string. I don't like the lower strings to sound muddy but I don't want them twangy either.