Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I buy a new mandolin?

Question Should I buy a new mandolin?

Hi all! Newbie here.

A while ago I bought a mandolin, kind of on impulse, it was the cheapest one I could find (Stagg M20 for the equivalent of $80). I wasn't sure I would like it, I'd never played a mandolin or any string instrument for that matter, and so I didn't want to spend much money on it in case I'd regret it.

In any case, I ended up liking mandolin in general quite a lot. I used to play the piano for years, but kind of gradually stopped, because it's so non-portable and so solo... I very much like mandolins in that you can mostly carry it anywhere and easily play along with friends who play other instruments and/or sing, etc... I'm sure you know what I mean. And it has that unique sound. In short, I'd like to continue and develop if possible.

However often I'm having a hard time fretting and I'm not sure if it's just my lack of training and experience or if the low quality of the instrument shows.

When I got it the string action was ridiculously high, comparing to values recommended online. I managed to lower it by both sanding the bridge and filing the 0-th fret (it didn't seem hard to do and I have some woodworking experience). This did help somewhat. Right now I have 0.3~0.4 mm on the first fret and a bit above 1mm on the 12th fret. Not sure if that's OK. But I still have trouble pressing the string for chords that are close to the 0-th nut, especially the B-flat major chord, B minor, and E major. Makes my fingers hurt.

I have no idea if it's the instrument or my inexperience (or possibly both). What do you think? I also have fairly skinny fingers, maybe that's a problem too...

Does it make sense for me to get a more quality instrument? Or is it OK to just continue learning on the cheap one I have for some while until I get more experience?