Thread: Tenor guitar top thickness

Default Tenor guitar top thickness

Hi there, I'm very new to building instruments ( as a hobby). Just looking for a bit of advice. I'm hoping to make a Tenor Guitar as my next project. Cedar top and possibly mahogany back and sides. Would be a copy of a Martin 018T Tenor. I know that spruce is traditionally used on this model but I'm hoping to use Western Red Cedar instead. Any advice on what thickness I should us on the top??

Many thanks John

Default Re: Tenor guitar top thickness

Cedar may need a bit more thickness, John. I have built acouple of tenors, a travel guitar and an octave mandolin using the same template I drew up and with spruce i have tried to get around 2.5/3mm. Depends on the particular wood you have - some tops are more flexible than others at the same thickness, and tapping the top listening for a good ring gives you a lot of guidance. Your bracing pattern will affect the top's flexibility and resilience too; are you going for cross braces or ladder bracing, etc? For the cedar I have used I have stayed around the 3mm mark, but others may well offer you other opinions.
    I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order. - Eric Morecambe

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOldBores

Thanks for advice John. not sure what bracing I'll be using to be honest. I actually have a Martin 018T tenor so I must get the mirror out and see how they did it. I'll be getting a set of plans shortly. I'm really at the early stages of getting my head around luthiery. Have been getting a lot of advice from a few luthier friends but none of them make tenor guitars!! I'm in the process of making a bouzouki at the moment. Learning by mistakes and there have been a few!!

John