Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flatwound vs. Roundwound bridge?

Default Flatwound vs. Roundwound bridge?

Hi there. I am a beginner, (7 months taking lessons), I'm having a fixed bridge installed and I was asked by the luthier whether I would be using flat wound or round wound strings. He said that different bridge styles are required for flat wound vs. round wound. I can't seem to find any information other than the differences in the wind of the strings, the tones and the use of both types related to the music style played. Can anyone of you good people explain this further? Thank you.

Default Re: Flatwound vs. Roundwound bridge?

Quote Originally Posted by vintelemon View Post
    He said that different bridge styles are required for flat wound vs. round wound.
    My gut is perhaps you should find a different set-up guy instead of a different bridge...but i've been wrong before..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Smokin.jpg 
Views:	107 
Size:	92.0 KB 
ID:	166565  

I’d be interested in the why of that. I have been back and forth from round wound to flat wound on both mandolins and as long as the slots fit the string gauges everything works as it should. Naturally skeptic, I’d want a detailed explanation of the different bridge styles. My bet is that you’re dealing with the wrong luthier.
    Mike Snyder

Can't the luthier explain himself? I'd like to hear him talk his way through this one myself.