Thread: Kentucky comparison please

Default Kentucky comparison please

Can i please have comparison between Kentucky km 700 and km 805. I am looking to buy but not sure which is the "better" mandolin and I can not play them first. Flying blind.

===========

Default Re: Kentucky comparison please

To the best of my knowledge, (I am not an expert) I often hear that the 700 and 800 series are very, very similar in quality - it isn't until you hit the 900 series and above, that you get a real upgrade.

Anyone else with a better first-hand knowledge care to chime in?

The Kentucky KM-805 Artist F-model Mandolin features:

Solid, hand-carved and graduated select spruce top
    Solid, hand-carved select highly flamed maple back and sides
    Vintage high-gloss Nitrocellulose lacquer traditional sunburst finish
    One piece maple neck with dovetail neck/body joint at 15th fret
    Radiused fingerboard with M.O.P. dot position marker sand modern extension over the body
    Bound rosewood fingerboard and peghead overlay with a unique torch-style inlay
    Vintage-style bridge with small adjustment wheels
    Traditional 2-screw truss rod cover plate
    Bone nut
    Highly polished nickel silver frets
    High-quality nickel-plated Gotoh tuners with engraved plate and removable buttons

KM-700 F Style:

All Solid Wood Mandolin Sunburst Finish
    Brand New With Full Factory Warranty
    Hand-carved solid spruce top
    Hand-carved solid highly flamed maple back and sides
    Maple neck with adjustable truss rod
    Bound, rosewood fingerboard with Saga's new distinctive fingerboard extension design and m-o-p position inlays
    Newly designed, traditional style mother-of-pearl and abalone peg head inlay
    Traditional high-gloss sunburst Nitrocellulose finish
    Multi-ply binding on top, back and headstock
    Adjustable compensated stained rosewood bridge
    Nickel-plated hardware