Thread: MAS -> GAS: Which effects pedal?

Question MAS -> GAS: Which effects pedal?

Now that I have extended my arsenal with an electric mandola I apparently have developed a new disease: gear acquisition syndrome.

For most of my musical life I was really devoted to pure acoustic music. No effects at all (well maybe just compensate close micing with a decent ambient reverb).

Then I started playing with an electric band. Almost no mando content though, I mainly play the bass there. Anyhow last time we had some fun playing a medley composed of Shady Grove (instrumental) and Sunshine of Your Love. With the mandolin ran through amp simulation with heavy distortion. This was great fun and finally got me hooked on electric sound and made me purchase the eMandola.

But now that I play in an Americana band and we do some Rockabilly, and I started to use my Airline Mandola (tuned as an octave) besides my acoustic mandolin, I start having the need for effects. But what to get.

1) What I really need is just slap-back echo. So any decent delay pedal would do. That would be my minimalist approach. So ~ 60$ should do.
    Then I do not want to end up with tons of specialized stomp boxes for tremolo, high gain, ....

2) There are some nice mini pedal strips like the Tech21 Fly Rig 5 and its siblings, which adds overdrive, high gain/amp simulation. This is quite expensive in comparison but the signal chain is fully analog. (digital delay is in parallel, of course). Seems to be a very decent small multi efx unit.

3) but even then, would'nt it be nice to have something even smaller, plus headphone outs for silent practising for a mere third of the price. E.g. this one: Valeton Dapper Mini. This one can easily come with me to the after work band rehearsal where I already need to carry the acoustic mandolin and electric mandola.