Thread: Sound System and 12V Phantom Power??

Default Sound System and 12V Phantom Power??

Through my searches I can find "Phantom Power" but nothing regarding "12V Phantom Power" ....

We're getting to the point of needing our own sound system rather than depending on a house system. I have the opportunity to purchase a fairly new Gear One PA2400" (at a very reasonable price). I have also recently purchased a pair of condenser mics and pencil mics (MXL990's and 993's). The Gear One system has a Phantom Power switch but it states "12V". Everything that I've researched indicates that condenser mics require "48V phantom power". Can anyone give me any insight on "12V phantom power"? I realize that I can purchase a separate Phantom power supply. But I'm curious about the "12V".

I'm fairly new to this "sound" thing, so please excuse my ignorance.

I'd also be interested in anyone's opinion on a decent entry level system (either a package type or components purchased separately). I'd like to keep things as simple as possible.

Any input would be very much appreciated.
    2014 Gibson 'Harvey' F5G
    1917 Gibson F2
    2013 'The' Loar LM600VS
    2013 Morgan Monroe 4FJ
    Blue Chip Picks
    The Scallywag Social Club

Default Re: Sound System and 12V Phantom Power??

There are three standards for phantom power, 12, 24, and 48. I think the MXL 990 requires 48. The users manual should give that spec. I don't think that PA will work with those mics.
    Pava S/N 21
    Calace Bowlback

Quote Originally Posted by ToyonPete View Post
    There are three standards for phantom power, 12, 24, and 48. I think the MXL 990 requires 48. The users manual should give that spec. I don't think that PA will work with those mics.

Thanks ToyonPete .... So, would it be possible to use a separate 48V phantom power supply such as a ART, Marantz, Behringer, etc. with this Gear One? Or would that not be feasible given that the Gear One is all ready equipped with 12V?

Thanks