Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for a mandolin around 500$

Default Looking for a mandolin around 500$

Hello everyone,
    I've been reading this forum, lurking in the shadows for a long time, but now I'm making my very first post.

My name is Florent and I'm a french musician who would like to start playing and studying the mandolin. I'm an electric bass teacher and I have a bit of free time to spare to learn mandolin. I already borrowed a cheap stagg mandolin from a friend and actually fell in love with the instrument.

So : I'm sorry if it has already been asked a billion times, but what do you think would be a decent model for a beginner who obviously doesn't need the best mandolin ever, but doesn't want to be discouraged by an awful sounding or too-difficult-to-play instrument ?

I don't know many mandolin shops where I live so I've checked the main online retailer in Europe, Thomann. The Loar-500-VS is exactly in my price range and looks sexy. I've been reading about it on this forum and people seem to be happy with it... While some others don't. It's hard for me to tell since I'm a true beginner, I couldn't tell if it's a good instrument even if I had the chance to play it first.

So if have any advices for a versatile (for now I'm interested in Classical, Bluegrass, and Irish music) and good study instrument in this price range that I won't want to re-sell in three months, that would actually help a lot !
    Thanks a lot in advance, and please excuse my poor english skills.
    Last edited by Florent; Feb-03-2018 at 5:24pm.

Default Re: Looking for a mandolin around 500$

Bonjour! The Loars used to get great reviews here, but apparently the quality these days isn't what it used to be. I would recommend a Kentucky KM-150 or and Eastman 305 (or any of the F-styles with the scroll by these makers in your price range, if you prefer that look) - both excellent starter instruments, and they might end up being all the mandolin you ever need.