Thread: Another Pick Thread

Default Another Pick Thread

Is anyone using the little teardrop shaped picks anymore? I bought some Dunlop Prime Tone Sculpted 1.5 picks to try. I drilled some holes in one to see if it would be easier to hold without it turning. Still hard to hold. I found a bunch of different guitar picks I had and found a GraphTech Tusq 1.4 in the bunch. It is a small teardrop and seems to be easier to hold in one position. Still a newb so maybe with practice I'll adapt to the prime Tones.

Registered User misterstormalong's Avatar

Default Re: Another Pick Thread

I've been through a lot of picks in the last year or so. I'm currently using a Prime Tone 1.3 but it's a rounded triangle rather than a tear drop shape. It has a grip pattern on both sides. I've never dropped a pick while playing but I did have one that slipped around.

I used to use thicker plectrums like the Golden Gate but when I started playing melody I found I needed something harder and this Prime Tone suits my playing for chopping and picking, at least at the moment.
    Hora Concert Irish Bouzouki
    Eastman MD504 Mandolin
    Crane Duet Concertina
    Gretsch Jim Dandy parlour guitar
    Gold Tone AC-4 Tenor Banjo
    http://justanechoonthewind.blogspot.com/

Worlds ok-ist mando playr Zach Wilson's Avatar

Practice more. You'll get there! Try loosening your grip and relaxing (also, play quiet-easy). It sounds sounds backwards but it will help.

All shapes and sizes of picks used to spin in my hand when I was new. But after a while (lots of practice) playing became easier and picking more effortlessly. When this happens you'll find it easier to relax and loosen your grip.

4. The following members say thank you to Zach Wilson for this post: