Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Re-lectrified!

Blog Entries

Default Re-lectrified!

Well after 5 and a half years of residence in the UK, I have finally resurrected my little Marshall GR-15CD amp and plugged in my JBovier EMC-5 for a bit of fun.

I had to buy a 45amp step-down transformer so I can plug into the wall without blowing fuses, and I bought a rather large pile of 500 milliamp fuses just in case.

Just ran straight from the mando to the amp or a short cable. I spent about an hour playing through tunes and riffs, tweaking the 2 preamp channels, treble, and contour settings to try different tones.

I had a lot of fun playing Ashokan Farewell in the style of Joe Satriani!

After a while I started playing the Star Spangled Banner and then followed with God Save the Queen/America the Beautiful (same tune different words). At that point I realised it was time to call it a night.

Next step is to dust off the Boss pedal board.

I might have to work some emando into the set list now, though I doubt that will go down well at an English folk club!

2. The following members say thank you to Daniel Nestlerode for this post:

Default Re: Re-lectrified!

Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Nestlerode View Post
    I might have to work some emando into the set list now, though I doubt that will go down well at an English folk club!
    A guy named Robert Zimmerman had that same problem in Newport, RI way back in the 60's. Some things never change.

Len B.
    Clearwater, FL

4. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to lenf12 For This Useful Post:

Blog Entries

I am honoured and utterly unworthy of that comparison.

Daniel

Quietly Making Noise Dave Greenspoon's Avatar

Just give 'em a rollicking Matty Groves in your best Fairport Convention style. Hearts and minds, laddie. Hearts and minds. (Or was that Leige and Lief?) ;-)
    Axes: Eastman MD-515 & El Rey; Eastwood S Mandola
    Amps: Fishman Loudbox 100; Rivera Clubster Royale Recording Head & R212 cab; Laney Cub 10