Thread: Bridge Wheel Slipping & Restringing Questions

Question Bridge Wheel Slipping & Restringing Questions

Hello,

Newish mando player and cafe reader...

1. Bridge
    I was trying to lower the string action on my Loar LM-220 by loosening the strings and lowering the bridge wheels. I found on the G-string side that if I lowered it below a certain point, it would slip all the way to the bottom with a loud pop, like it was stripped. It took me a couple of times to figure out how high it had to be to avoid this...needless to say I didn't get the action lowered at all (and broke a string).

Does this mean I need a new bridge? Do all bridges fit any mandolin basically? Assuming so, Cumberland seems to be the recommended brand of choice. Are they that much better than a $15-20 generic one?

2. Restringing
    After breaking one string I decided to replace them all with EJ74's that everyone recommends. My wife insisted that I only need to replace the one because since I'm a beginner, would I really hear the difference between one new and 7 old strings? (She's a violin player and only replaces one.) Opinions?

I watched a few YouTube videos and tried this method (fast forward to 1:15):
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOVXKp5fIKc

I ended up breaking the two new E strings in the process. Do you think the way this is done it pinches the string against itself and cuts it? Video for a stringing method you prefer?

I haven't cut the excess string, can I re-do the other strings, or are there pinch points now that they are under tension that I shouldn't mess with?

Thanks for your thoughts...

Adrian Minarovic

Default Re: Bridge Wheel Slipping & Restringing Questions

You can take the bridge to the hardware store and show them the post/wheel. You can buy new post (setscrew) or use simple hex nut with thin washer instead of the wheel if that is faulty. Very likely the thread will be metric M3 on chinese mandolin.