Thread: Mandolin Bridge/Neck Problem

Default Mandolin Bridge/Neck Problem

I couldn't find anywhere else that this problem was covered, so here it is.
    I recently received a neglected mandolin from a friend who wasn't getting around to it. I've cleaned it up and it looks like it's in fairly good shape (not that I would know for sure - it's my first time working on a mandolin). The only missing piece is a bridge. In researching bridges, I came to the conclusion that something is wrong with the setup of the neck.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC02960.JPG 
Views:	1082 
Size:	1.18 MB 
ID:	162410
    As you can see in the photo, a straightedge on the frets pretty much touches the soundboard at the highest point of curvature, while my impression is that it should be at least 1/2" off. You can also see a glue line on the neck near where it joins the body - apparently the neck was re-glued by the person before my friend and I'm guessing that they may have inadvertently changed the neck angle.
    So, what should I do with it? Am I correct in thinking that the neck probably needs to be removed and adjusted in order to result in a usable action, or am I missing something? If I need to take the neck off and adjust the angle, how should I go about doing it?

Default Re: Mandolin Bridge/Neck Problem

Yes, the neck is at the wrong angle. It might not be worthwhile to get this repaired if it is a low end instrument (what is it?), because a repair like that can run into some money.

More pix, and some close-ups of the joint, would give the experts here more to go on.

It looks a Framus or similar model. Probably needs a neck reset that would exceed the value of the mandolin.
    Charley

A bunch of stuff with four strings

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC

Quote Originally Posted by electromagnet View Post
    ... a straightedge on the frets pretty much touches the soundboard at the highest point of curvature ...