Thread: Mandolin on a boat

Default Mandolin on a boat

I live on a boat cruising the Bahamas and eastern US. I got the urge to learn something new and last week I bought a Fender starter kit from a local music store. I realize it is a cheap instrument but I want to keep it in the best condition that I can. Right now I am playing it every day to toughen up my fingers and I wonder if I should be loosening the strings after each session. I have an electronic tuner and it appears to be holding tune fairly well from day to day but I worry about the effects of changing humidity and temperature, especially now in the fall. I would greatly appreciate advice on general care and maintenance for a boat instrument? Thanks!

Default Re: Mandolin on a boat

I am no expert on this stuff, but if you are playing it daily, you can leave it in tune and just tweak it prior to playing/practice. Not sure of your mandolin, but assuming that it is a laminate body, the humidity on the boat (especially in the tropics) shouldn’t have too much affect on it, but could on the neck, fretboard, etc. So assuming you have a case maybe you should throw in some of those dry pack things. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by Mike Scott; Oct-29-2017 at 11:31am. Reason: Typos
    Thanks

Several mandolins of varying quality-any one of which deserves a better player than I am.......

seasinger,

If you are playing it daily the only thing I would urge you to do is keep it in the case, tightly closed, when you aren't playing it.

I recommend good case with a professional quality humidifier that shows moisture ratings and such so you can maintain a constant humidity.

Something else to consider is the strings you use. Constant high humidity will quickly oxidize the wrapped strings if they aren't of the "coated" verity. I like the Mapes brand which you order direct from the company only. All of their strings have a very light coating.
    https://www.mapesstrings.com/product/mandolin-strings/