Thread: EBay Bowl Back

Default EBay Bowl Back

I am new at this Mandolin stuff. Teaching myself classical guitar but I am of Italian descent and love the sound of Italian traditional music.

Bought a inexpensive bowlback on ebay.
    Two labels inside.

One says "Paola Valiani E fn Figle Napoli" The other says Restored by David Hynds Luthier de Thaims, France. Restored June/July 05.

What did I buy??????

Any recommendations for strings?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	s-l1600 (1).jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	154.3 KB 
ID:	161533   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	s-l1600 (5).jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	154.6 KB 
ID:	161534  

Default Re: EBay Bowl Back

I'm not a bowlhead myself, but Dave Hynds has a good reputation here, and he has a website mandolinluthier where you could contact him directly. The usual recommendation on strings is extra lights, but check with Dave to see if you could go heavier.

benny

You bought a decent simply-adorned mandolin. It should be fine for playing and you have the advantage of having a good luthier check it out. Many eBay instruments are as-is and sometimes require work to make them truly playable. I would guess that since this is an older mandolin that the caveat to use extra-light strings would apply here as well.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

Full Grown and Cussin' brunello97's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by JohnDiMaggio View Post