Thread: Hardanger Fiddle Tunes

Default Hardanger Fiddle Tunes

Hi all. I recently received my Northwest-influenced Hardanger Fiddle:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FB_IMG_1507911495208.jpg 
Views:	428 
Size:	28.0 KB 
ID:	161482

This is a 10 stringer, with the top strings tuned C-G-D-A-E. I've joined the HFAA and downloaded their Sampsel Tune Book - nothing from it really grabs me (yet). I'm new to Nordic music, so currently I play mostly Irish and Scottish tunes on it. I'm looking for suggestions for haunting, eerie minor key tunes that really make use of drones and the sympathetic understrings. Any ideas? I'm a pretty good sight-reader but also like to learn by ear. Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	230 
Size:	272.7 KB 
ID:	161481  

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mandobart For This Useful Post:

Default Re: Hardanger Fiddle Tunes

Hi. This Hardanger fiddle/viola looks very interesting. If you take a look at the Youtube channel Ernst's Early Music Project, he plays a variety of music on a Hardanger fiddle (and many other instruments as well). Also, Inna Larsen has a site with quite a few transcriptions of tunes, some of which are played in GDAE tuning.

If you are interested in Swedish tunes, take a look at Farmor's Brudpolska (there are a lot of transcriptions available online if you search and a great video on Youtube of a duet of the tune on baroque violins). I have a book from Schott publishing called Scandinavian Fiddle Tunes that has a good variety of mostly Swedish tunes.

I'm excited for you, I always thought they were pretty neat but my bowed instrument skills are very lacking as far as venturing into that area myself. I believe some of the Lord of the Rings soundtrack includes Hardanger fiddle, namely some of pieces played when they are in Rohan; some good hauntingly eerie parts there.