Thread: Amps for electric mando

Default Amps for electric mando

Hey all,

I'm looking to get a new amp for my electric setup. I have two main electric mandolins - one 8 string and one 4 string. I'm looking for something that's got a good clean tone and low watt enough that I can actually get the amp past 2 on volume. Ideally tube, but open to good solid state or blends.

I've used the Loudbox Mini for a bit and it's nice, but not really what I'm looking for from tone. My Fender Deluxe is super loud (no more than 2 on the volume there). Looking for something between the to I suppose.

Thoughts?

Default Re: Amps for electric mando

Well I'm just an amateur (just got back into music a few years ago, and also hadn't played electric before that) so I don't know if this would work for everyone, but since no one else has answered yet...

I like my little Roland Micro Cube. It has some different sounds, ranging from an Acoustic modeling sound which is generally what I use, to some distortion if you want that. It has a line-in so you can play along with backing tracks or YouTube videos or other stuff you've recorded on your computer etc. It has a headphone jack for private listening. You can also use the headphone jack to run a line-out to a mixer or computer, to record it. The one I have also has the option of running on batteries as well as A/C.

Hm, just checked, seems my model of older original cube is discontinued...

Does anyone know what the equivalent current model of Roland Cube is? Would the Micro Cube GX be the same thing? It looks nearly identical to my older one. Says the new GX is 3 watts, mine is 2 watts, looks like the new GX has one extra distortion setting, but otherwise looks very similar to what I have here.

(No clue how to integrate that sort of thing into a PA system or whatever, is that even possible?)