Thread: Classical Music needed

Blog Entries

Question Classical Music needed

Hi Everyone
    I would love to learn classical music. That is my ultimate goal with the mandolin and with practice I feel that I can accomplish it. At the very least I intend to try.

Being a novice I need to start slow. Can you recommend a entry level book that I can purchase that may help. Hopefully there is something out there.

Although I am making the effort to learn Standard Notation, I’m not there yet so I do require a book that includes tabs.

Thanks in advance.
    Wayne
    Northfield Calhoun Mandolin
    Eastman MD505 Mandolin
    Seagull S8 Mandolin
    Godin A8 Mandolin

Fishman Loudbox Mini
    Blue Chip Picks

Wayne

Default Re: Classical Music needed

The "Classical…" section of the "Music by Genre" division will have a lot of information. I don't have specific answers for you—especially about tab—but someone else will.

Blog Entries

Simon Mayor The Mandolin Tutor and Mastering The Mandolin should be a good start to get you going while using Tab but migrating to standard notation. http://mandolin.co.uk/shop/ it’s not a totally clasical repertoire, but it is an approach based on classical techniques etc. I made up a cardboard frame with moveable horizontal strips of card to blank out the Tablature lines, to make sure I was only looking at the notation and to cut down on the visual clutter on pages with both Tab & notation. That might help you to migrate once you’re a bit more familiar with the dots.
    After that Marilyn Mair’s The Complete Mandolinist would be a good follow-up as you advance. http://www.marilynnmair.com/books/
    Once you have got the dots under your fingers then the world is your oyster in terms of directions to take from there. There are shed loads of old methods available for free online.