Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Capo?

Default Capo?

I play with a couple of retired folks who sing and play guitar, bluegrass style.
    Her vocal range is good but not unlimited. So if we like a song in G she might need to sing it two frets up. Rather than transpose, we all just use a capo.
    I've never seen a mando player use one, so I'm a little embarrassed to confess this. I'm still a newbie and a previous guitar player, so I'm not facile in transposing. Should I strive to get out of capo use?
    Peter Kaufman violin
    Old Wave two point

Default Re: Capo?

Yes. IMHO as long as you play and have fun that's ALL that matters. However if you want to learn to play better and correctly, practice without the capo. Use a simple song you've memorized and play it in different keys. Or better yet just pick a fret and start there.

Blog Entries

Mandolin Cafe's Rule #1 - music is for having fun.

Rule #2 - see Rule #1.

If it works for you, do it. If you want to expand your knowledge, playing in A is pretty darn easy as all of the open strings are in the key if you're plucking a few lead notes in the process. Learn a few closed fingered chords and you're good to go for them as well. Ab is where you'll run into the challenge but it can be done with some time and effort, but that wasn't the question.

Still, wait for it, wait for it... it's likely the capo police will be along shortly telling you it's blasphemy. It's not. I don't use one but that's part of the fun for me personally. I like playing in all keys. I like to have fun.

Having fun. That's the whole idea. Let that be your guide.

4. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Mandolin Cafe For This Useful Post:

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries