Thread: Really new need help

Default Really new need help

I am new to mandolin and need help on where to begin. I am a bit of an older learner and a bit confused where to begin. There is much info on the internet 2 3 4 finger chords, scales, arpeggios etc. Are there any books or online resources that are in simple terms that I can utilize? I did see a mel bay book for seniors, I'm not quite a senior but not too far off. I am a drummer and never played a stringed instrument and dont know the first thing about notes thier relationships etc. I have started learning 2 finger chords a little and just love the mando and want to progress as quickly as I can so any help is greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Really new need help

I'd start with Mandolin For Dummies by Don Julin.
    Keep that skillet good and greasy all the time!

Don Julin's book would be good. I also recommend getting these: https://www.elderly.com/mike-marshal...wo-dvd-set.htm
    Mike Bloder
    Hogan F-5
    Northfield NF-F5S

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by jim1966 View Post
    I have started learning 2 finger chords a little and just love the mando and want to progress as quickly as I can so any help is greatly appreciated.
    The good news is there is plenty of time to learn. I took it up 4 years ago and am surprised how much you can learn in that time. Relax and enjoy this part without feeling you are behind.

A good reference book like the one Tobin suggests is great for study. I like studying things in print

A good online lesson source can take you a long way quick if you have the time. I would look at the lessons on mandolessons.com for starters. Most of it is "free" but if it works for you he takes donations.