Thread: practice tips for precise fretting

Default practice tips for precise fretting

I am a beginner and would appreciate any tips anyone could give me for practice that would develop precise fretting techniques.
    How I practice now is to take a piece of music, (Midnight on the Water, or a minuet) and practice it measure by measure, very slowly, ( 50 BPM+/-) while watching my fingers. After several runs at that measure, I'll move to the next measure. In addition to my usual 45 minute daily practice session, sometimes I'll sit in front of the TV and practice a measure that gives me the most difficulty time after time.
    I have also tried fretting measures without watching my fingers, and but I am afraid every time I fret sloppily doing it without looking will just imprint a mistake in my brain.
    Suggestions most welcome. Thanks.

Fred

Default Re: practice tips for precise fretting

You're probably doing what you need to be doing at this point. Internalize the music you're playing and learn to think in terms of fret position so that you're not consciously reciting numbers. It's OK to look at your left hand for the time being to ensure good accurate finger placement at the fret. Over time, and with much repetition (I'm talking years here, not weeks or months), it will become very natural to the point where looking at your hand doesn't really add anything of value. So use your visual sense to help your other senses as long as you need to, with the goal of weaning yourself off of it over time. It will come together, along with all the other coordination issues like pick placement/timing, left-and-right hand timing, etc.
    Keep that skillet good and greasy all the time!