Thread: Taking a mandolin camping- humidity and temp swing a problem?

Default Taking a mandolin camping- humidity and temp swing a problem?

Hi guys,

I've just purchased my first decent Mandolin- an Eastman 315F- and am new to the forum.

As a newbie, my question relates to potential humidity and temperature damage. I want to take my mandolin on a trip where I will be sleeping in a tent for up to a week. The temperature through the day is forecast to vary from 12 degrees at night time to 21 during the day.

Should I be worried about the swing in temp and humidity? If so is there anything I can to to protect it or should it be left at home?

Cheers

Davie

Default Re: Taking a mandolin camping- humidity and temp swing a problem?

I'd be more worried about humidity than temperature, especially given the temperature range you stated, which isn't extreme at all. Are you going from a humid to an arid environment, or vice versa?

3. The following members say thank you to Miltown for this post:

I don't think there's much of a difference in climate between the town I live in compared to where I'll be camping. But the difference is that it will be "outside" at night time and presumably exposed to a greater humidity swing than its used to in my apartment. A quick look at the weather forecast tells me that outside humidity is due to vary between 34% during the day to 83% at night time. I won't be leaving the mandolin out of its case, outside of the tent, but I notice that things inside a tent tend to get damp...

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries