Thread: Possible Newbie

===========

Default Possible Newbie

Quick background:

I am not a bluegrass guy. I am generally not impressed with flying-fingers mandolinists who play at breakneck speed - so naturally, I have no real desire to play that way. I try not to 'chop' very often either. I greatly prefer the 'less is more' style of playing . . . nice melody, tasteful tremolo, etc.

I am a lousy player. I can't read music and have never had the talent to properly learn other people's songs, licks, etc. - but I like to listen to a lot of stuff and get idea's from other people's playing, so that I can (hopefully) incorporate those ideas into my own style.

Although I have ZERO background in Celtic music, in recent weeks I have felt a strange pull in that direction.

So - my question is . . . based on the information above, do you have any suggestions on artists to listen to, that might be a good, but simple, introduction into the Celtic style?

Thanks.

2. The following members say thank you to MikeZito for this post:

Blog Entries

Default Re: Possible Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by MikeZito View Post
    Quick background:

I am not a bluegrass guy. I am generally not impressed with flying-fingers mandolinists who play at breakneck speed - so naturally, I have no real desire to play that way. I try not to 'chop' very often either. I greatly prefer the 'less is more' style of playing . . . nice melody, tasteful tremolo, etc.

I am a lousy player. I can't read music and have never had the talent to properly learn other people's songs, licks, etc. - but I like to listen to a lot of stuff and get idea's from other people's playing, so that I can (hopefully) incorporate those ideas into my own style.

Although I have ZERO background in Celtic music, in recent weeks I have felt a strange pull in that direction.