Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I want to buy my first mandolin

Default I want to buy my first mandolin

Hello everybody,

I would like to start playing the mandolin and would need some advices please.

First of all, I live in a small village in France, so it’s a bit difficult to find a mandolin in a shop.
    I will certainly buy it online and try to find an online shop that offers the setup if possible.

I play the harp (celtic harp), the piano, and a few month ago, I started playing the ukulele and the guitar. I love the sound, the shape, everything about the mandolin, so I think it’s time for me to try it.

I usually play and sing and have a loudbox mini amp.

Having an electro-acoustic mandolin would be great but if not it’s ok since I can get a mic.
    I want to play, mostly, irish music and traditional music.
    I would like to be able to play with other instruments :-), so I may need an instrument with a good sustain.

I have a budget around 300/350€( approx 350/400 USD) for my first mandolin.
    I read on the forum, great comments about the Kentucky KM 150 but I can’t find it in France…
    If I want to upgrade my mandolin in a year, I will be able to get one from friends coming back from the US. But right now, I don’t really want to wait for a year .

So I looked for mandolins in my budget and would be grateful if you could give me your advices on them :

http://www.gear4music.com/Guitar-and...-Mandolin/183G

http://www.gear4music.com/Guitar-and...-and-Case/1LLN

https://www.thomann.de/fr/the_loar_lm_220_vs.htm

If you have any other recommendations, please tell me :-)

I read not so good reviews on Gretsch, Epiphone and Fender Mandolins.
    I was wondering about the Washburn mandolins because I have a good parlor Guitar from them but I am not sure their mandolin are all solid body.

Thank you in advance for your help,

I am looking forward to becoming a mandolin player :-)

Default Re: I want to buy my first mandolin