Thread: Just another newbie

Default Just another newbie

A year ago at the age of 42, I decided to learn to play the mandolin. One Rogue mandolin and The Complete Mandolin Method book purchased from eBay and I was on my way. Fortunately, I found the mandolin cafe. One frustrating moment led to one thread on here and lots of encouragement from members. Fast forward to today. FedEx just delivered to my house The Loar 590 mandolin that was listed in the classifieds. I'm loving it. I was just wondering how many of you still have the first mandolin you ever bought? I was thinking of donating my Rogue to a young kid that wants to learn but can't afford one. But at this moment, I'm also feeling sentimental about my first.

Default Re: Just another newbie

When I started playing guitar 25 years ago, I heard everybody say, "Keep your first one!" and I said, "OK!!!" Then I sold it.

Sure, I'd love to have that first one back, but there are also about 50 others I'd like back. Gift the mando to the kid. You'll be glad you did.
    Soliver arm rested and Tone-Garded Northfield Model M with D’Addario NB 11.5-41, picked with a Wegen Bluegrass 1.4

3. The following members say thank you to MediumMando5722 for this post:

gtani7 

Loan the mandolin to the kid. He can play it until he buys his "first" then return yours to you. Both will have their first.

5. The following members say thank you to Mandoplumb for this post:

gtani7 

You're absolutely right. Who knows, maybe next year I'll upgrade again.

Still own a Harmony I bought in 1973. It's out and I pick a tune on it periodically.
    Play em like you know em!

Still have my first - The Loar LM 220. I will loan it out but not sell it.

My first mandolin was an Eastman MD 505. It's quality was good enough to get me hooked, but nowhere near as good as my Silverangel.