Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie!!

Default Newbie!!

Hi all! I am an absolute newbie to the mandolin. Have been playing electric bass for 40 years and decided to try something new. My first mandolin from the Mandolin Store should be here in 2 days. Very excited and looking forward to getting to know the instrument and make my way around that itsy bitsy little neck/fingerboard. Any way, just wanted to say "Hi" and see if anyone had any good recommendations of where to start as a complete newcomer. I have been poking around on Mandolessons.com and a few YouTube videos to get some basic information. First thing I notices was the mandolin is tuned like an upside down bass so hopefully the transition won't be too overwhelming. Any suggestions for a newbie would be much appreciated. Cheers!

Ivan the Terrible

Registered User Charlie Bernstein's Avatar

Default Re: Newbie!!

Hey, Ivan!

I'm pretty new to mando, too, and have gotten lots of good advice here. You came to the right place.

Here's a great starting place, recommended by a lot of the people here: Mike Marshall's mando tips

Bass and mando? If Chris Hillman can do it, you can, too.

Keep on pluckin'!

Thanks mucho! I will give that a look.

===========

As a long-time electric bassist turned mandolinist-wannabe, let me first say WELCOME! My first experiment with a mandolin was a disaster because, compared to the huge neck on my old Music Man Stingray bass, a mandolin neck felt like a popsicle stick with threads on it . . . but after just a small handful of minutes, I adapted quite easily. (Now I have the opposite reaction - when I go from mandolin to bass, it feels like I'm playing a barn door!)

You will get lots of advice here - look into all of it, find what works best for you, and you will be well on your way in no time. Keep us posted along the way.

5. The following members say thank you to MikeZito for this post: