Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ridiculous MAS

Blog Entries

Default Ridiculous MAS

Many years ago I found a Lyon & Healy model A on the classifieds. At the time you didn't see very many of them. The asymmetrical two pointer. I had been lusting for one for many years prior and even had my MAS budget coffee can full. When opportunity met preparedness, boom. I called.

The fellow said my call came in a couple of seconds after he had posted the ad!

I love it. I play it often. It is my go to mandolin for classical. Jacob Reuven even smiled when he tried it. When I play it in public sometimes folks come up to ask me about it.

Of course I still think it is one of the most beautiful mandolins in the world. My blood pressure still goes up whenever I see one for sale.

That is the crazy part. I see more of them these days, several in the last three months in the classifieds, and I want them. I read the ads closely. I compare them to mine as to condition and wear. I am so tempted to get one. Get all of them. I feel so vulnerable just owning one. Totally ridiculous. Totally nuts. I say to myself I need another "just in case". I say to myself I should get them to keep them out of the hands of someone who doesn't appreciate them as much as I do. Maybe its just the momentum of wanting one for all those years, I seem to be still shopping long after I made the purchase.

For the record, they are beautiful to look at, easy to play with that short scale, and if in good condition can sound great, really great. Strung with Thomastik strings the sound is just angelic. They appear to be holding their price because the average of the prices I seem them at is identical to what I paid years ago.

I have to learn to appreciate the flowers without indulging the desire to pick them.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

2. The following members say thank you to JeffD for this post:

Default Re: Ridiculous MAS