Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New noob member, new "The Loar" mandolin, & endpin jack question

Default New noob member, new "The Loar" mandolin, & endpin jack question

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to the forum, though I have lurked a bit recently. I'm an experienced guitarist, but basically a mandolin noob. I can play all of 3 R.E.M. songs and Battle of Evermore.....which is probably pretty consistent with a lot of folks who've only dabbled with the mandolin!

I had a crappy $99 A-style, and a bowlback that slid off my lap/chest, (way back in the mid 90's) that were lost to the sands of time.

I didn't want another $99 one, and I'd been wanting an f-style since always, but since I'm not a real mandolin player, I didn't want to spend more than a couple hundred bucks, max. I've looked around a lot, and know that nowadays China and Korea are actually making crappy plywood f-styles (used to be the crappy ones were always A-style, in my experience), so it's nearly impossible to buy one with confidence over the internet unless you know the brand.

Last week, I went into Guitar Center last Thursday to mess around with acoustic guitars, fully intending not to actually buy one. I ended up trying out a "The" Loar LM-310 mandolin (I've read enough here to know....not to just call it "a Loar")..... and the next day I ended up coming back and taking it home with me.

As I mentioned, I've read around a bit, so I recognize that there is some static regarding the use of the name Loar (muddying the waters, etc.), but I wanted to confirm what someone else said in another thread.... that unless you already know about mandolins, the name Loar rings zero bells, and means nothing. In fact, it's actually a really bad name, in the sense that when I went to research the mandolin later that day, and kept googling "THE LEON"....so that tells you how much of an impression the name makes, at a glance. I was totally remembering it wrong.