Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't find the Mandoholics Anonymous thread...

Learning by error!

Default Can't find the Mandoholics Anonymous thread...

I guess I'm the new kid on the block here, this being my first post. And my newly-acquired mandolin playing habit seems to be consuming me. In my case, the gateway drug was a tenor banjo that I started playing in March of this year. Having zero prior music experience, I decided to take a swing at learning to play a unique instrument while in my mid-50's. a couple Mel Bay books and a YouTube video or two were early enablers. I figured out a arthritic handful of chords, but in a moment of unguarded weakness I got hooked picking melody TAB.

Late at night I'd be wandering the internet bayou, collecting second- and third-hand TAB from perfect strangers. Soon, I started paying for TAB with my gas money and finally blew the entire wad on the TablEdit software so that I could get my fix from the TAB-Lab in my basement. But I couldn't stop spending late nights on the dark, dusty streets on the internet. Like a starved coyote, I'd lurk in the shadows at the Mandolin Cafe, stealing four-stringed morsels to feed my tenor banjo.

At some lucid point in time I came to the realization that a teno banjo addict is lonely, because, well, simply put, there aren't too many of us around. But there are a bunch of mandolin addicts, and they are a bit more socially acceptable because they leave a much nicer sound in their wake. So in early April I found a 35 year old Gold Tone A-Style - and then the real obsession began. The poor mandolin looked lonely, so I found a friend for it in a Breedlove Crossover F-Style.