Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Different Picks for Different Instruments

Default Different Picks for Different Instruments

I've been hacking away at mandolin for a few years. I recently purchased a guitar and am working on trying to be a passible rhythm player. I was just wondering, do any of you folks use a different pick for mando playing vs playing guitar?

Default Re: Different Picks for Different Instruments

I use big triangles for mandolin and large jazz 3 types (actually a gravity sunrise gold is current favorite, but basically that shape) on guitar, Propik fingerpicks and bluechip JD crowe thumbpick on banjo
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}

Shopping/monitoring prices: vibraphone/marimbas, rhodes, synths, Yamaha brass and double reeds

Yes. A guitar string is not as "tight" as a mandolin and for that reason I use a thinner more flexible pick, not a floppy too thin but not as thick as I use on mandolin.

You won't like this ...... but to play good RHYTHM GUITAR you need high action and at least medium gauge strings. (I use heavy.) A pick at least 1.5mm. Depending on the situation i'll use Dugains which are 4mm.

Rhythm is what i do on guitar.

Ryk
    mandolin ~ guitar ~ banjo

"I'm convinced that playing well is not so much a technique as it is a decision. It's a commitment to do the work, strive for concentration, get strategic about advancing by steps, and push patiently forward toward the goal." Dan Crary

Depends on if I'm strumming or plucking. If I'm strumming, same picks. But there is not much difference for me. I use 0.75-1.0 picks either way.

Quote Originally Posted by banjoboy View Post