Thread: Anyone have info on Darkwood Mandolins ?

Default Anyone have info on Darkwood Mandolins ?

I'm in the market for an electric mandolin and I came across Darkwood Mandolins on YouTube and was blown away. I have not been able to find out much information on the builder/company and I was curious if anyone had any insight.

Thanks !

Default Re: Anyone have info on Darkwood Mandolins ?

They have a presence of Facebook, I can't find any past reference to them on the Cafe. They don't appear to be in our builder's database.

https://www.facebook.com/DarkwoodStrings/
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

He looks to be a new builder. His YouTube videos really impressed me. He built an Antique Burst mandolin that just sounds great. I'm new to Mandolins and wanted an F style with a pickup. The Eastman 615MD looked to be my best entry level bet but I have contacted Jeff ( aka Darkwood Mandolins) and I might gamble on him. We all have to start somewhere.

Careful about being "blown away" by Youtube videos. Rarely have I found any mandolin that sounds bad on videos. Make sure he offers a trial period.

Yeah.....I know the Eastman is the safe bet. I'm going to feel this out though. The Mandolin Store is getting more 615MDs in this week so I have a few days to look around.

Zainesville......any decent mandolin shops in Columbus worth the drive from Cleveland?

Bluegrass Musicians Supply on high street is the only place worth visiting in Columbus. Not sure what they have in stock atm.

Thanks. It beats Cleveland. Only a few Rogue Mandolins hanging at GC or Sam Ash here. I'm not healthy enough to drive to Elderly Instruments but Columbus might be possible.

If you're looking to play it acoustically that Darkwood appears to be a solid bodied instrument that is shaped to look like an F5 shaped object.
    --M. Stillion

--J. Garber