Thread: Strings for a beginner

Default Strings for a beginner

Hi.

I'm new to both the forum and the mandolin. I've been playing Uke for a while and wanted a new instrument. Chose the mandolin because of the violin style tuning (I used to play).

I've bought a low cost one to start with and obviously it won't have come with the best strings. I'm happy to buy a fit new strings, my question is this:

What are the best new strings for a beginner - in particular I would like ones that are slightly less painful than the ones fitted. I'm really feeling the pain! At this point I'm not too concerned if the strings give less volume (my neighbours probably wouldn't mind that either!) I'm just looking for something easier on the fingers while I sit there practicing chords over and over again....

Default Re: Strings for a beginner

A lot of us use medium gauge strings. For a beginner you may want to begin with a light gauge until you build up your callouses. Most any brand will do for a first shot. Good luck and have fun.

It sounds like more than just new strings, your mandolin needs to be properly setup.
    What did you buy and where are you located?
    If you're reasonably handy, you can do the setup yourself. If not, you can have it setup by a good local shop.
    You can contact Rob Meldrum to get a good setup eBook:
    https://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/s...by-Rob-Meldrum

The standard go-to strings for mandolin to start are D'addario EJ74

+1 on setup. Setup is more important than string gauge or brand. A good setup will play easy with most any string, tho a lighter gauge usually requires a higher action as they move more than a heavier gauge. I use 11-42 and have a very easy playing mandolin.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

+1) Uke fingers not toughened.. Go light.. 10-36 ..

brands? get what's convenient to find,

most like bronze wound D & G in the set.

Set up is important, buy from a shop that does that , before the sale.