Thread: Two Newbies to Mandolin

Smile Two Newbies to Mandolin

Hey y'all!

I'm new to the forum and my wife and I are new to mandolin. I've played guitar for several years, but never learned to read music. When my wife hinted that she wanted to try mandolin, I bought her an entry-level Ibanez for her birthday. After tuning it and learning to play the simplest version of "Happy Birthday", I was hooked and I ordered another one for myself.

I know very little about mandolin, but have learned a lot just from reading here and other places on the internet. I'd like to eventually hire a professional teacher, but we're starting out on the self-taught route for now and focusing on reading music. Between lessons, I appease my impatient side by practicing scales, two-finger chords, and playing pieces for which I can find tablature.

The best thing is, this is something my wife and I can do together.

===========

Default Re: Two Newbies to Mandolin

Sakamichi:

Our stories sound somewhat similar.

Many years ago my son wanted a mandolin for his birthday, and wanted ME to teach him how to play it. I reminded him that I didn't know how to play the mandolin, but he insisted that I could learn and teach him . . . and I had a whopping 30 days to figure it all out!

Long story short - I bought him an inexpensive 'Oscar Schmidt' mandolin, learned some basic chords, figured out a few licks, and within a few days I was hooked!

Welcome aboard!

I have been playing mandolin for decades, perform, play for dances, know hundreds of tunes, play lead in some groups.

I don't read music. You don't need to read music to have fun with any instrument. I have nothing against reading music my daughter plays flute in an orchestra and I can figure it out if I have to. There are many kinds of music that you can learn by playing with others or listening or on line.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to pops1 For This Useful Post: