Thread: Mandolin accompaniment

Default Mandolin accompaniment

Hey all, new to the forum here and I have a question. So my girlfriend just recently purchased an Eastman mandolin from the mandolin store which I'm teaching her how to play. I used to play a few years back but I'm primarily a guitarist these days so I haven't picked one up in a while let alone a quality mando and I guess I caught the bug again. The only problem is that I find the size of the instrument pretty uncomfortable. I'm just trying to get some opinions what might sound the best accompanying her. I'm looking into OM or zouk(or even a mandocello if I stumble upon a few thousand dollars). She's not really a big old time/country girl so it would be closer to rock music or even Celtic tunes. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Default Re: Mandolin accompaniment

Hi Adamman,

I am not really sure I understand what you are asking, but I can say that I love playing my short-scale OM. In fact, these days I play that more than I play my mandolin.

I think the OM is great for accompanying the mandolin, but others may offer better suggestions. You can certainly accompany her with your guitar, if accompanyment is your primary goal. Mandolin/guitar duos work well. But if you want a mandolin-family instrument to do that with, the OM would work nicely. OMs cross genres easily, too, so rock and Celtic aren't a problem for the OM.

Best wishes,
    Bob
    Purr more, hiss less. Barn Cat Mandolins Photo Album

Sorry it was a bit rambly, I meant I liked the feel of the cord shapes and the droning you can get on it and I wanted something similar that my sausage fingers could manage because mando feels too cramped for me

Hi Adamman,

OK, I get it. I still think an OM is a good choice for you, but I have a real thing for OMs, so I might be a bit biased. I know I am not alone in that, though, so it might be correct anyway.