Thread: For You Budget Buyers... Got a Hundred Dollars?

Default For You Budget Buyers... Got a Hundred Dollars?

Please listen before reading. :-) I am a rank beginner playing the mandolin, better known here as the guy who gives away a free ebook on how to set up a mandolin.

My wife and I were preparing for our annual pilgrimage from Greater Seattle back to Cincinnati to be with family for the holidays. My mother-in-law asked me to bring a guitar and play some singalong songs at a couple of family parties. Traveling with a guitar is difficult and rather than risk damaging one of my babies I went to musiciansfriend.com for my favorite deal. That's right, $99.99 for their "Bluegrass Two-Fer," a guitar and a mandolin, shipped, for under a hundred dollars. They had an online coupon for 20% off, so I ended up spending about $80 plus tax for a guitar and the infamous Rogue mandolin.

This is the third time I have bought this package in four years, and each time the level of quality has improved. The attached video is of the Rogue mandolin as shipped, with the only adjustment being moving the bridge to center the strings on the fretboard and intonate it. The song is "Wayfaring Stranger," which I learned from a youtube lesson and practiced for an hour.

Please ignore my playing errors. I think the sound is pretty darned good for the price point. I still think this is a perfect starter for someone (like a youngster) who is unsure if they will practice, practice practice or give up after two lessons.

Next up I am going to cut the nut slots and angle them correctly, change the strings out for some D'Addarios, and adjust the bridge height.

2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Rob Meldrum For This Useful Post:

Gummy Bears and Scotch BrianWilliam's Avatar

Default Re: For You Budget Buyers... Got a Hundred Dollars?

$40 mandolin! Not bad. Enjoy!