Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rubner tuners

Default rubner tuners

Can anyone tell me how Rubner tuners compare to others in quality and feel? Thanks for any information.

Default Re: rubner tuners

I have Rubner tuners on my new Jacobson Black Tie and love them. They are, first of all, the best looking tuners I've laid eyes on. They're very smooth and hold tune very well. I can't compare them to either Waverly or Alessi as I've never had those tuners on an instrument. The Rubners cost considerably less than Waverly or Alessi, and only marginally more than something like the Grover 309's. Given the opportunity, I would definitely use Rubners on another instrument.

I have no personal experience of them yet, but I know of a couple of fine instrument makers who have high praise for the Rubners, and that would be recommendation enough for me.

I had troubles with several other well known brands, especially ones with black knobs for some reason. I tried a set of Rubners and they are very smooth - they have bearing discs. Very well made and great looking. As Mike points out, they don't cost much more than the other good brands, though you can spend a few more bucks for the yet fancier models in the line. I hear that the much more expensive Waverlys are not always what they are blown up to be. For anyone considering Rubners, I recommend just doing it, you will be most pleased. NFI, just a fan.

Blog Entries

I have installed a few sets.. on classical guitar and on mandolin, and they are very nice tuners. Incredibly good value (I get them in Spain at really low prices, and they are popular with many classic guitar makers here). Price to performance ratio is just excellent. Personally, I think the Waverley's are just a bit nicer, but at several times the price. In Europe, Waverley's are now really pricey...