Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Manipulating One's Pick

Default Manipulating One's Pick

Hi all, this is my first post on Mandolin Cafe, so apologies in advance if this is a common forum question that I'm just restating.

I'm quite new to the mandolin and am getting used to using a stiffer pick (compared to the picks I've used when playing the guitar) and I've started to wonder, do mandolinists use different grips for different styles of playing? I've found much better success using soft grip to play tremolo, but when I try to strum using this same grip, I keep dropping my pick on the upstroke.

Any guidance for a newbie on proper pick technique?

Default Re: Manipulating One's Pick

Yes I think it's good to vary the amount of pressure with which to hold the pick. Gripping tighter will produce a louder tone, but you will lose a lot of sweetness and put more tension which can decrease speed and accuracy. I think it's best to grip as lightly as you can while still producing the volume that you need to be heard and of course you don't want to lose the pick. So there's a balance.

If your talking about varying the way that you hold the pick, no I dont think that's a good idea

I think there's a lot of things that you can do differently and kind of figure out on your own what's best for you, but I personally think there's only one way to hold a mandolin pick. And that is like this picture below, curled index finger with only a little bit of the pick sticking out.

It's also good to angle the pick a little bit, hitting the strings with the edge of the pick instead of just flat, but that is one of those things you can figure out on your own. Angling the pick does give a sweeter tone and helps ensure that you are hitting both strings in a course, which is actually more of a problem with some people than you would think. I angle my pick backwards like John Reischman, that feels more natural to me, but most angle the pick forwards

Click image for larger version.