Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Old Time Jam Session Strum Patterns

Default Old Time Jam Session Strum Patterns

I've gone a few times to an OT jam near me. It's a great experience for me, since I have zero experience playing with other people, and didn't practice chords or rhythm playing very much playing at home. I've been three times, and really liked it. I have a few weeks before I go again, and would like to practice.

I'm trying to figure out where I fit in, and what to play. They've been pretty nice, and nobody has complained about me so far, so that's good. The typical line up is one or two fiddles, one or two guitars, two or three banjos, and me, but it changes, obviously.

I figure the fiddles have the melody taken care of, and I don't know the tunes yet, anyway. The guitars are doing a boom-chuck rhythm. So what should I be doing?

I've been avoiding a chop (and actually avoiding chop chord shapes, since once I'm in them it is pretty easy to start chopping). I can do a mando equivalent of the guitar, with a bass note ringing and the chords on the 2 and 4. Maybe choking off the chords a little. Strumming open chords and letting them ring on the 1 and 3? On some songs it seemed to work to alternate between up and down on the two followed by just the down on the 4. Is that annoying to other folks? Sometimes that sounded OK, and sometimes it sounded like I was trying to play Reggae, so I stopped that. Any other ideas on how to contribute?

Apologies if I have my terminology wrong here - I don't have a lot of experience. I'm not even sure they are not playing in 2/4. There were a few songs where I couldn't count right with 4 beats, but worked with two, which is the first time I've ever thought I understood the difference. I asked them, and nobody knew the time signatures. They all learned them by ear and played them, and didn't worry about it.

Default Re: Old Time Jam Session Strum Patterns