Thread: home recording equipment focusrite scarlett or Zoom H4N ?

Default home recording equipment focusrite scarlett or Zoom H4N ?

I'm interested in recording myself playing some tunes on my mandolin. I'm mainly interested in recording audio however I would like to have the option of recording some videos with decent sound quality.

I've read through the many excellent threads on here on home recording and have come to conclusion that perhaps the best option for me would be to record video and sound separately and sync them using editing software afterwards.

I have a panasonic point and shoot camera that I think would take care of my video recording needs however I have no knowledge of recording equipment. Having gone through the threads on here I have highlighted the following two products -

http://www.thomann.de/gb/focusrite_scarlett_studio.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/zoom_h4_n.htm

Which would be the better of the two for my requirements?

As I've said my knowledge of recording equipment is non existent so I'd be very grateful for any advice you wish to share.

Blog Entries

Default Re: home recording equipment focusrite scarlett or Zoom H4N ?

These are very different pieces of equipment, intended for different purposes.

The Zoom H4N is a handy "field recorder". For taking to a jam, or recording yourself "live", it is very good. It is not so well suited to recording over-dubs or "multi-tracking", though you can use it as an interface as well. It has microphones built-in, but you can connect others.

The Scarlett is an east-to-use basic, 'studio' interface. For overdubbing/multitracking it is fine, but it is not portable (except in that it will work with a laptop). It needs to be connected to a PC/Mac to work.

The answer is that for some things the Zoom would be better, for others, the Scarlett. If you are exclusively going to be recording in a "home studio" situation, I would go with the Scarlett. For recording out and about, the Zoom is the way to go.