Thread: Classical Technique

Default Classical Technique

I've been playing mandolin for over 30 years, mostly bluegrass or other folky styles, and I gig fairly often, either on mando or a mix of mando and keyboards. I'm also a degreed pianist and piano teacher and am an adept music reader.

Next week, I'm going to rehearse with a local mandolin orchestra. I've been practicing the parts and feel relatively prepared but I have some questions for those here with classical mandolin experience.

Are there differences in a standard classical approach to technique? Also, what is the protocol for long notes, do I let them ring or is tremolo always used? Are open strings a last resort, or a first choice?

Any help with these would be much appreciated.
    2018 Bowerman A-5
    2013 The Loar LM-520-VS
    2011 Fender FMO-66 Octave Mandolin

Default Re: Classical Technique

Quote Originally Posted by Mandorich View Post

Are there differences in a standard classical approach to technique? Also, what is the protocol for long notes, do I let them ring or is tremolo always used? Are open strings a last resort, or a first choice?