Thread: Share you experience. Practice Regimen/ Focusing on too much?

Default Share you experience. Practice Regimen/ Focusing on too much?

Sometimes posts serve a useful purpose in that they create shared experiences, helping us to forge on in a more efficient pursuit of mandolin mastery.

I am trying to build proficiency in the FFcP first four positions. I am working through the first four PDF's which are basically a page each.

It can take me up to thirty or forty five minutes in the mornings do so. The 4th finger workout is really something! I expect to really know the fretboard blindly because of these exercises.

On work mornings when I don't have as much time, I feel like I slop through them because they take so long.

Should I just focus on one position daily?

I work as a nurse and I only work 3 days per week.

I am playing about 2-4 hours per day on non-work days and on work days I only about 25 minutes in the morning to practice. I am trying to figure out the most useful way to spend my time on these work days.

Sometimes I focus on too much at once. Like in learning songs I want to play one through without mastering it at speed before moving to the next. I'm forcing myself to do so now and its rewarding. You can't do everything at once. It's better to focus on one thing at a time right? I am specifically focusing on BG mandolin right now...

There's a saying, Ad Nauseum. I believe I need to get more acquainted with playing things Ad Nauseum.

The same is true for songs. I made a pact with myself to stop playing new songs until I could play all current projects by memory. This has worked well in that I memorized a bunch of stuff recently.

Thanks for your opinions! I know this is supposed to be fun, and it is! I'm just trying to really make the most of my time and be dedicated as I just noodled around with guitar for nearly a decade and in only 7 months now on Mandolin I have become much more proficient through working a lot harder at it.